Click here to show form
top of page
  • Gregory Allen

FPD Chief Hebbe Speaks at Special Olympics Opening Ceremony

NW Region Law Enforcement Torch Run officers fuel the flame of hope at the 2014 Special Olympics New Mexico Four Corners Invitational

On August 22-24, some 17 Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) officers from our Northwest region came together to support our Special Olympics athletes and their families during the 2014 Special Olympics New Mexico (SONM) Four Corners Invitational in Farmington.

This year's FCI State Competition brought 594 athletes, 347 Unified Partners, 120 coaches, and 58 chaperones to the city of Farmington to compete in Golf, Aquatics, Softball, and Flag Football. Throughout the weekend, our LETR officers awarded medals to athletes, competed as Unified Partners, connected with family members, and carried our Flame of Hope torch into Opening Ceremonies to light the Olympic Cauldron and kick off our three-day State Competition. Huge thanks go out to Farmington Police Department's Chief of Police Steve Hebbe and the following LETR officers for their time, energy, and passion.

From Farmington Police Department: Lt. Taft Tracy, Sgt. Dale Bode, Sgt. Dave Monfils, Officer Jenny Dennis, Officer Marty Snowbarger, Officer Jason Thornburg, Officer Jonathan Jensen, Officer Willard Nez, Officer Sierra Tafoya, Officer Chris Blea, Officer Brittany Johnson, Shawn Archuleta, and Mike Archuleta. Another thanks goes out our LETR officers with the Army National Guard - Farmington, San Juan College, Farmington Police Department - Explorers program for their additional support at our Games!

From: Special Olympic brief August 27th

Please view the above video

Additional Links:

Special Olympics New Mexico

San Juan Safe Communities Initiative would like to recognize Farmington Chief of Police Steve Hebbe for his leadership, community spirit, and service to our citizens. Hebbe made the transition from the Anchorage Police Department in March of this year and has settled in quickly by making Farmington and San Juan County his own.

Greg Allen

Executive Director

San Juan Safe Communities Initiative

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page